Fees and Refunds


Each Student (except K-12 Concurrent Enrollment students*) shall be charged an enrollment fee for enrolling in credit courses as required and set by law.

ALL California residents will be charged $46 per unit, per term.  Please note that enrollment fees are determined by the California Legislature for all community colleges and are subject to change at any time. 

*K-12 Concurrent Enrollment stdents have all enrollment fees waived.

These fees must be paid by the published deadline dates listed below.  Fees not paid will result in being dropped for all classes for the upcoming term.  


Payment Deadlines

All students are required to pay their enrollment fees and any outstanding balances by the deadline or you will be dropped from all Spring 2019 classes.   

If you add classes after your initial registration, you must check your account balance and pay any additional fees before the next payment deadline or you will be dropped from all your classes, even those you registered for earlier.








Spring 2019 Payment Deadlines


classes between:

2018-2019 FASFA*


CA Promise Grant**

(Formerly known as the BOGW fee waiver)


(VA & Dept. of Rehab)




October 29 - November 15

October 19, 2018

November 13, 2018

Thursday, November 15, 2018

November 16 - December 6

November 9, 2018

December 4, 2018

Thursday, December 6, 2018

December 7 - January 3, 2019

November 30, 2018

January 2, 2019

Thursday, January 3, 2019





















*FAFSA is the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.  This form should be prepared annually by current and prospective college students to determine their eligibility for student financial aid.


**The CA Promise Grant (formerly known as the BOGW fee waiver) waives enrollment/tuition fees for eligible California residents for the academic year.  Please complete the 2018-2019 CA Promise Grant if you are planning on enrolling for the Spring 2018 term. 

If you are a currently attending the Fall 2018 term and have already submitted the CA Promise grant for Fall 2018, you will not have to complete another for Spring 2019. 


Veteran (VA) and Department of Rehabilitation Students must see the VA Representative or submit a Department of Rehabilitation voucher to the cashier’s office by the BOG/ CA Promise Grant deadline dates to ensure you will not be dropped for non-payment.


In addition to paying your fees at the Cashiers’ Office,

you can pay your fees on-line using PAWS at www.hartnell.edu.

The system accepts VISA, MasterCard, American Express and Discover Cards






Refunds are issued after the Last Day to Drop for a Full refund.  Please review the Student Semester Calendar for dates. 

Please allow 6-8 weeks for check refunds and 5-10 working days for charges to be credited back to a credit or debit card. 

Please contact the Cashier's Office at 831-755-6998 for any questions regarding fees or refunds. 

Full Semester Classes (16-to 18-week Classes)

  • A 100% refund is given upon withdrawal during the first two weeks of the semester. 
  • No refund or credit is given after withdrawal beyond the second week of the semester.

Summer and Short-Term Classes

The refund/reversal for short-term classes is based on the length of the class and the number of days per week the class meets. 

  • A 100% refund is given upon withdrawal by the 10% point. 
  • No refund is given after the withdrawal beyond the 10% point. 


    Class Meets

    100% Refund if Withdrawal

    5 Days a Week by the End of
    4-week session 2nd day of session
    6-week session 3rd day of session
    8-week session 4th day of session
    10-week session 1st wk of session

    Note: Classes meeting fewer weeks or fewer days per week will have shorter withdrawal periods based on their 10 percent point.

Cancelled Classses:

A full refund will be given for courses cancelled by Hartnell College provided a petition is submitted to the Cashier's Office within one week of cancellation. 


It's Your Responsibility To Drop Classes!

Dropping or withdrawing from a course is not an automatic process. It is the student's responsibility to drop the classes they are not attending. (It is NOT the faculty member's responsibility to drop you-It is your responsibility as an enrolled student.) If you do not drop a class, you will be charged for it, and you could receive an "F" grade that will remain on your permanent record.  Please follow this link to view the Attendance Policy.



Sergio Bindel Jr


David Robert Feustle